Lace Dress

Recently I was asked to be a bridesmaid in my friend Rachel’s wedding. The bride decided fairly quickly on the color teal and a vintage theme. I was on quite a tight budget at the time but I really wanted to find a dress that fit the theme.

After countless hours of searching for the perfect color and price to fit my budget, I made the joke that I’d probably be better off just make my own dress.

One thrift store and few boxes of dye later, I decided I’d take my chances.


I found this cream lace dress with an embellished neckline for $14 at thrift store in Chattanooga, TN.

Once I had cut off all of the embellishments, I was ready to dye the dress. I bought 3 boxes of dye just for good measure. I filled my sink with scalding hot water, laundry detergent, and few teaspoons of salt.

About 30 minutes later I washed one of the sleeves off and realized it was going to be a while.

It took three attempts at dying the dress to get the desired color.

After the brides approval, of course, I walked down the isle in my new creation!

6 thoughts on “Lace Dress

  1. I have a white lace dress I have been thinking about dying for a while now. After reading this I think I’ll do it next weekend. Just a question though. Did the dye stain the sink? Mines white so am a tad worried about this
    Thanks 🙂

    • Oh, you should do it! As far as staining the sink goes, the sink I used was metal and it left a blue tint for a while. Although, it did eventually wash away. You could always just dye it in a large bucket or pot, which a pot on the stove could be better since its best to keep the dye scalding hot during the dying process. Let me know how it turns out if you decide to do it!

      • Hey,
        Thanks for replying 🙂 The bucket/pot is a great idea. I bought some dye today it’s a burgundy colour hopefully it turns out!

  2. I’m looking for a vintage blue lace dress for my brothers wedding and I’m struggling to find one I keep finding White ones and that’s a big no no so at least I know I can do this 🙂

Leave a Reply

