Extra! Extra! Read All About It!

This morning I decided I wanted to do something new with my nails. I had heard through the grapevine that you could use rubbing alcohol to transfer news print onto surfaces. Here goes!

To begin, I applied a clear coat to protect my natural nails.

Once the clear coat had dried, I then applied a coat of light gray. I chose a light gray so that the nails would actually look like a newspaper.

Tip: If you’re going to try this, make sure before starting another step that your nails have completely tried.

I thought at this point, I should go ahead and have newspaper pieces cut out and ready to use. This is the one time I’ll deter recycling, it’s best to start with a fresh piece for each nail.

Once my nails were completely dried, I dipped my finger in rubbing alcohol. You should leave your finger in the rubbing alcohol for about 5 seconds.

Immediately after dipping my nail in the rubbing alcohol, I placed a piece of newsprint on the nail. I found that 15 seconds was a nice time frame for holding the print on your nail.

Tip: This step works much better if your nail is dripping wet! When I first tried this look, I shook the alcohol off and then held the newspaper to it. Sadly, the newspaper stuck to my nail…wah wah.

After 15 seconds had passed, I pealed off the newsprint and viola!

I quite literally had the news at my finger tips!

Try out this look! It’s very fun and looks awesome!

17 thoughts on “Extra! Extra! Read All About It!

  1. Great. I’m trying this right now! I forgot to get rubbing alcohol though, so once my nails dry I’m walking over to the store to pick some up. I’m trying to decide if I should do one or two coats of gray.

  2. Hey I love your blog I really do. I just wrote a really long comment and then courtesy of my stupid computer, apparently, it didn’t go through or whatever. So now I sound really unclassy because I’m mega tired and don’t want to think about all the hard, very pretty, near perfect work I put into the last comment. Sorry this is getting rambly. Quick run down of what the other comment had in it:
    1.I like your blog. It is very nice and presented even nicer. Awesome. Truly. The thing I like most about your blog is that you include step by step pictures of the projects which makes it awesome and more easy for all types of learners. And not only is it that, but it proves that hey, this isn’t just something I read about and I want you guys to try, you’re testing it on yourself, and showing us that hey this works. (I’m saying ‘hey’ alot,)
    2.Suggestion. I would be soooo sooo happy if you did a quick simple, uncomplicated post on how to make one of those headbands that Lucielle Ball from I Love Lucy is famous for. I think they’re really cute and on YouTube I saw this thing where it had a metal wire and you bent it into shape and it looked cute, don’t get me wrong, but a)not everyone wants to buy such a contraption and b)you think maybe you(and I, and people in general) could make one of regular old cloth. A sleeve of an old tshirt maybe? Let me know please.
    3. Apology- I completely apologize for my somewhat rude and rushed suggestion. I completely understand if I crossed the line. This is your blog and you make up what goes in the post but I just thought it’d be cool or might be an inspiration. Anywho, I’m sorry I took up so much of your time. Please reply to this comment if you decide to attemept(I have hope in you if it helps?) to make one of these headband thingys. I’m sure others would want to learn to make one too.

    Wow, I think this comment was even longer than the first. Once again I’m so sorry.
    -Sincerly, eshy,

    • No need to apologize! I appreciate the super long post haha and the suggestion! I think I know what you’re talking about with the head band…I’ll have to check out the weird wire tutorial and see if I can break it down! I’m sire we can find a simpler way 🙂 also funny that you mentioned that, I’ve been thinking about making a head band! Thanks again!

  3. Pingback: One Lovely Blog Award « cosycrafter

  4. I did this to one of my fingers and it turned out great. My 9 year old niece wanted it on her fingers so I did it to hers as well. It’s going to take me some practice b/c some turned out perfectly and others had to be redone. I love this though.

Leave a Reply

