Shabby Chic Chalkboard

Once my sister saw the Shabby Chic Window Mirror that I made a few weeks ago, she decided that I needed to make a window item for her as well. Since my sister has two little girls, I decided to make something that they could use also. That’s when I had the idea for a chalk board!

The Finished Product

Things you’ll need: An old window frame(with glass in tact), chalk board spray paint, caulk or glue, twine, a nail gun, clothes pins and chalk of course! Here are a few pictures to show you my process. If you have any questions on the method just leave me a comment!

Sanding

I started by sanding down the paint that was chipping off.

The window I chose had two separate removable panes which proved very helpful. Once I had scrapped off all of the old caulk that was holding the window in, it fell right out.

Chalkboard Spray Paint

I found this little gem while picking up some craft supplies at Ace Hardware!

It seemed like common sense to just reuse the glass from the window. (Helpful hint: I used two coats since I wasn’t sure how well it would work on glass. Also, I found it best to wait the entire 24 hour drying period.)

While my chalkboard paint was drying, I decided to move on to the next step.

I decided to use twin to create a craft clothesline. You do this by using a staple gun to attach the twin on either sides of the frame. (Helpful hint: If you want your twine to stay in place, tie a knot around the staple.)

Once your chalkboard is dry, insert it back into the frame. Then, use caulk or glue to hold the glass in place. (You must also wait 24 hours after this step.)

Once the glue has dried, you’re on the home stretch! Per directions on the spray paint, in order to “set” the chalkboard, you must first rub the flat side of a piece of chalk over the entire board and then erase it.

Here is another look at the finished product. One day, when I find one, I want to attach a silver pail to the bottom right hand corner that will serve as a holder for chalk.

If you’re thinking “I would make this….if only I had a window frame,” then let me be the first to tell you…they are all over the place at old second hand shops! I recently added a few more to my collection that were $5 a piece at thrift store here in town.

If you decide to give this a go, please post a picture and let me know how it went!

5 thoughts on “Shabby Chic Chalkboard

  1. Pingback: Saturday Sum Up – My favourite posts this week | House of Huskisson

  2. Pingback: #fridayinspiration « Eclectic Likes

  3. It’s super cute and you make it look so easy! One question though, since you’re painting the glass with the chalkboard paint, does it make the glass more durable? I want to make one for my kids’ playroom; however, I worry about them writing on the board and shattering the glass. What are your thoughts?

    • Thank you Marianne! It really was very easy. As far as the paint making the glass more durable; I don’t think that it did. I’d say if you wanted to make it harder to break, cut out ply wood that’s the same size as the glass and glue it on the backs of each glass. In another one of my posts I made a window mirrow and gluing the window to the glass made it much more durable, so the wood would probably help.

Leave a Reply

